In time I’d find a little way to your heart

October 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm Leave a comment

Band of Horses 10/19 Riveria Theatre, Chicago

Band of Horses are easily one of my favorite bands (I know, I know –  I say that about every band) but really, they’re pretty fucking high on my list. It was love at first listen of course, but after seeing them at Lollapalooza last summer, I’ve been on a mad spendfest (those 99 cent songs do add up fast) downloading everything of theirs I can get my hands on. I love all of their music – Cease to Begin being my favorite album up until recently, when their newest triumph Infinite Arms gave it a good run for its money. A little less fire than their last,  but still, as always fantastic.

So this Infinite Arms tour started,  went to see them last night at the Riv, and as suspected, they put on a really great show. I was totally impressed (which i realize theres no value in that statement anymore since I LOVE LOVE LOVE everything) with the whole show. First, the Riveria always has good sound. I’m always satisfied with that. They started off the show in one of the lower balconies, Ben Bridwell (ah, so cute) and the guy with the beard (their members change quite a bit, can’t keep up) for an acoustic performance of “Nobody’s Gonna Love You” which happens to be my favorite song! I wasn’t totally ready for it (still juggling my new beer and figuring out what to do with my coat, while getting knocked around by people trying to get closer to the stage) but, it sucked me right in – for the next 2 hrs, my ears and eyes were verrry happy.

Now, I say ‘eyes’ not just because Ben is well, a sexy musician, but because the band had this awesome slide show going on behind them the whole set! It was all these outdoorsy pictures that moved to the beat of the music, or just one, depending on the song. Totally amused me. I’ve seen some great set designs in the past, but this was natural, and convincingly authentic. I felt like i was watching the bands vacation slides or something. Actually, I felt like I was on vacation with them, up in the Smokies or something. Cheers to that! My friend laughed at me when I asked her if she thought the band picked out all the photos. “Yea, right – they totally have somebody do that for them.” Well, I thought it looked like they put it together, so maybe she’s wrong.

And maybe im in the wrong business, I want that job!

They closed it off with a very new, never been heard song, which i have mixed feelings about (i always wanna hear the old stuff for the encore) but I’m hoping that means another album in the near future! I’ll be waiting patiently – but in the mean time listening to Infinite Arms over and over. Take a listen to Blue Beard, i think it’s the best on the CD in my very, professional, opinion. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

With every ghost I’m looking through… happy friday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

