simple song

January 10, 2012 at 7:30 pm 4 comments

http://simplesong.theshins.com/

Take a listen! Finally something new from the shins! I’ve been waiting! For 4 years! Broken Bells didn’t really do much for me, but I still think James Mercer is somewhat of a musical genius. Not to mention, aaaaadorable.

I see the new album doesn’t come out till March 20, but I think Simple Song is a good start ( the shins will always be one of my favorite bands, flat-out, so I’m not sure I’d really be a fair critic anyway, but…)I’m sure the rest of the CD is just as soothing to the ears and mind as all the rest. I remember back in 2007 when Wincing the Night Away first came out – that CD didn’t leave my car for weeks (way back in time when we still bought CD’s) So I’m really looking forward to the  same 60’s beachy sounds I’ve missed. Port of Morrow can’t come soon enough!

Entry filed under: Music. Tags: , , , , , .

Sarah’s Key Sweet Spring Stripes + Flowers

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Koinboy  |  April 2, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    Broken Bells left me feeling light headed and ill….I bought it for my girlfriend at the time and let’s just say the overall verdict was: Colossal disappointment. I got to this blog from the freshly pressed one and because you mentioned Broken Bells didn’t do much for you I reckoned I could trust you a hell of a lot more than that article; which in my mind didn’t do much apart from kiss ass to the extent of completely lacking subtlety and finesse; I mean- he could have said something constructive but not necessarily positive. Anyway, for reasons I’ve barely implied, I’d like to ask what you think of the album (if you’ve written a post of your own on it, then I ought to have a look for it.) Could it really be a flawless album? Hehe-My goal is to find out, without listening to it.

    I’m cripplingly bored- sorry if I’m coming across the wrong way.

    Reply
    • 2. mmasters  |  April 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      I think their signature style is still there – which to me sounds like what you’re looking for! Port of Morrow has the same crafty lyrics and pleasing sound as their other albums. I don’t think I would have used the word flawless, but maybe just enjoyable. It’s not groundbreaking or transcendent, but it is satisfying! Broken Bells was just a flop – nothing about that album had me craving any of those songs, mostly because they left out all the elements we love about the shins! Hello! Nobody cares about Danger Mouse. Well, i guess thats not true, hipsters and electro junkies probably ate that up, but I wanted the unique noise I love! I feel like Port of Morrow redeemed itself, definitely worth the listen! thanks for the comment!

      Reply
      • 3. Koinboy  |  April 3, 2012 at 3:40 pm

        Thanks for the reply. Perfect.

  • 4. mmasters  |  April 3, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

